Hey everyone!  My mom bought quite a few vegetables this week.  They all screamed Soup to me all week long so that’s what I made today!  I love making making soup.  I think what I love most is chopping all the vegetables, I think this is like the best part and eating it too.  Today I made a Minestrone soup which is a soup with beans, pasta, and vegetables.  I made a lot, by a lot I mean a pot overflowing with soup.  I will have leftovers for a while.  I love eating soup the more it sits, it just gets better and better.   Minestrone Soup is one of best soups and it is so simple to make, I throw whatever vegetables I have on hand, some beans, some pasta, broth, tomatoes, herbs, and that’s about it.  It’s that easy.  My mom has taught me everything I need to know about making a vegetable soup, that I can make it with my eyes closed!  I wrote a recipe that describes what I do most often when I make this soup. 

My Recipe for Minestrone Soup

minestrone soup 2

I use whatever vegetables I have on hand. Some of my key vegetables to include are cabbage, carrots, onions, celery, bell peppers, zucchini, potatoes, tomatoes canned or fresh, and spinach. Feel free to add whatever you like. I add the vegetables that take longer to cook like potatoes, cabbage, carrots in the beginning and vegetables that take a shorter time to cook like zucchini in the end. This is a very verstile recipe, you could play around with it!

The Ingredients:
2 medium bell peppers diced small
1 onion chopped
4 garlic gloves
2-3 carrots diced small
2-3 stalks of celery diced small
2 small zucchinis diced Small
1/2 head of cabbage shredded
2 medium potatoes
1/2 pound of spinach
1/4 cup parsley
1 teaspoon oregano
1/4 teaspoon sage
1/2 teaspoon Thyme
2 bay leaves
8-10 cups of vegetable broth
1 can of white beans or more if you like I used fresh beans which is about 2 – 2.5 cups
28 oz can of tomatoes or 2 pounds of fresh tomatoes
1/2 cups short tubed pasta like elbow, I used orzo this time because it was all I had.
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

First you shred the cabbage, I shred it with a knife because the cabbage shreds better than in the food procceser.
prep for soup 1
Chop the onions, carrots, and celery.
prep for soup 2
Heat a soup pot with oil to medium heat. Add the onions, carrots, and celery and saute for 8-10 minutes. Meanwhile start chopping the rest of the vegetables.
cooking soup 1
Add the bell peppers. Add the tomatoes and cook for 5 more minutes. Add the potatoes and cabbage. Also add the bay leave, oregano, thyme, salt/pepper and sage. Now you can add the broth and bring it to a boil. When it’s up to a boil bring it to simmer. Simmer it for 15 minutes. Add the zucchini and cook for another 10-15 minutes.
soup cooking on the stove
Add the pasta and cook for another 10 minutes. Now add the spinach and beans. Cook for 5 minutes. Finish it off with the fresh parsley. Enjoy!

