Hey everyone!  I couldn’t blog yesterday because my Internet was down,  Anyways yesterday I made some Eggplant Caponata from The Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen Cookbook.  Now this is my second time making Caponata.  The first time I made it how the Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen Cookbook says to which is roasting the eggplant.  This time I fried the eggplant which is the more of the traditional way of making caponata and I also used balsamic vinegar and some red wine vinegar instead of just red wine vinegar.  I liked the eggplant caponata that I made yesterday but I really prefer the pre roasting the eggplant vs. frying the eggplant.  I found that frying the eggplant made the caponata really heavy.  I couldn’t eat it all because it was so heavy!  I just wanted to try frying since its more traditional and I was little on a hurry, but roasting is way way better!!  Eggplant caponata is fairly easy to make.  You pre roast/fry the eggplant.  Make the sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, cook it for 20 minutes.  Add the vinegar, sugar, tomato paste, olives, and capers.  Throw it all together and cook it for another 10 minutes and you’ve got yourself Eggplant Caponata.  Today I took the leftover Caponata and turned it into a pasta dish which I always do for leftover vegetable stews.  I’ve been having a lot of pasta lately, nearly all my posts have some pasta dish in it.  I can’t help it, its so good and easy, but I think I should take a break from pasta for a while.

Eggplant Capanta

Eggplant Caponata served over rice

 Rigatoni with Eggplant Capanota

Leftover Eggplant Caponata turned into pasta

One thing I miss during my prevegan days is feta cheese.  I loved feta cheese.  Thankfully I found an awesome recipe for vegan feta cheese.  I used Bryanna Clark’s recipe for Tofu “Feta”.  This recipe is amazing!!  It reminds me of the feta cheese that I had during my prevegan days.  It is so so awesome.  It is really easy to make too.  You should definitely try Bryanna’s recipe, Bryanna has such awesome recipes!!  Thank you so much Bryanna for making such a great recipe for Tofu “Feta”!  Today I used my Tofu “Feta” in a salad.  I just can’t believe how close to cheese the Tofu “Feta” tastes, it has a very creamy taste to it!

Salad with Tofu Feta

Tofu “Feta” Salad

